Divorce in Portage County Ohio

Portage County Ohio Divorce and Dissolution Lawyer

If you are considering filing for a divorce or dissolution in Portage County Ohio, it is important to plan and know what to expect. Here’s a brief overview:

Filing Requirements

If you plan on filing for a divorce in Portage County, Ohio you must have lived in Ohio for at least 6 months prior to filing for the divorce and you must have lived in Portage County for at least 90 days prior to your divorce filing.

If you plan on filing for a dissolution, you still need to have lived in Ohio for at least 6 months but you do not need to have lived within Portage County for any minimum period of time.

A divorce complaint or dissolution petition needs to be filed at the Portage County Domestic Relations Court located at 203 W. Main Street, Ravenna, Ohio 44266. The Portage County Domestic Relations Court is open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. The telephone number for the Court is (330) 297-3880.

Portage County Domestic Relations Court

The Portage County Domestic Relations Court handles a wide variety of domestic relations issues and actions including the following:

  • Divorces
  • Dissolutions
  • Legal Separations
  • Annulments
  • Child Custody Disputes
  • Enforcement Actions
  • Modifications of Parental Rights and Responsibilities
  • Child Support
  • Spousal Support
  • Civil Protection Orders

The domestic relations attorneys at our law firm have extensive experience in Portage County, Ohio representing clients with all of the above listed issues.

What Happens When You File a Divorce

After you file your divorce complaint, your spouse or partner (person you are divorcing) has 28 days after being served with the complaint to file an answer. In addition to filing an answer, your spouse or partner may wish to file a counterclaim for divorce.  A checklist of what is required for a divorce in Portage County is provided below.

Uncontested Divorce

If your spouse or partner (person you are divorcing) files no answer, your case will be set for an uncontested divorce hearing. You will need to appear at the hearing and give testimony regarding the grounds for the divorce, your assets and debts, and the needs of any minor children. Generally, the assets and debts will be divided as you requested provided the division is fair and equitable based on the evidence presented. If you and your spouse or partner have a valid separation agreement, the Court can divide your assets and debts according to the terms of the separation agreement.

Contested Divorce

If your spouse or partner (person you are divorcing) files an answer, it is considered to be a contested divorce. In other words, you and your spouse or partner cannot agree on how you will divide assets and liabilities and/or your parental rights and responsibilities. The Court will need to conduct a hearing and take evidence to decide one or more issues regarding the relationship. This can be a very time consuming and expensive process.

Portage County Divorce Checklist

The following lists the minimum requirements for both a contested divorce and an uncontested divorce in Portage County, Ohio:

Contested Divorce

1. Complaint for divorce

2. Motion for Temporary Orders (if necessary)

3. Instructions for Service

4. Notice of Hearing

5. Affidavit of Income and Expenses and Affidavit of Property or Local Affidavit of Financial Disclosure

6. If minor children are involved:
a. Parenting Proceeding Affidavit
b. Health Insurance Affidavit
c. CSEA Support Payment Registration Form
d. Title IV-D Application
e. Both parties must attend Children Are Forever Parenting Seminar

Uncontested Divorce

1. Separation Agreement (all assets and debts must be identified, valued and assigned to one party or the other)

2. Shared Parenting Plan (when minor children involved)

3. Ohio Child Support Guideline Calculation

4. Health Care Determination (if applicable)

5. Decree of Divorce

Please note, in addition to the above checklist items for both a contested and uncontested divorce, there may be other documents, pleadings and filings the Court may require depending on the unique issues associated with a specific divorce case.

Dissolution

A dissolution allows spouses and partners to terminate their marriage by agreement without stating any reasons why they wish to terminate their marriage. To obtain a dissolution, you and your spouse or partner must enter into a written contract that divides all of your assets and debts and, if there are children, the agreement must allocate parental rights and responsibilities. This written contract is called a separation agreement. The separation agreement must address all of your assets, debts and the care, custody, control and support of any minor children of the marriage.

Your dissolution case will be scheduled for hearing after the petition for dissolution is filed. Both spouses or partners must be present for the hearing.

Portage County Dissolution Checklist

1. Petition for Dissolution

2. Waiver of Service of Summons

3. Separation Agreement (all assets and debts must be identified, valued and assigned to one party or the other)

4. Notice of Hearing

5. Affidavit of Income and Expenses and Affidavit of Property or Local Affidavit of Financial Disclosure

6. If minor children are involved:
a. Parenting Proceeding Affidavit
b. Health Insurance Affidavit
c. CSEA Support Payment Registration Form
d. Title IV-D Application
e. Both parties must attend Children Are Forever Parenting Seminar

7. Decree of Dissolution

Please note, in addition to the above checklist items for a dissolution, there may be other documents and filings the Court may require depending on the unique issues associated with a specific dissolution case.

Children Are Forever Parenting Seminar

The Children Are Forever parenting seminar is required for any parent seeking a divorce, dissolution or legal separation through the Portage County Domestic Relations Court. The three-hour seminar covers the following parenting topics:

  • Emotional Impact of Divorce on Children
  • Children’s Reactions to Divorce at Different Stages
  • How Parents Can Help Children
  • Resources to Help Parents and Their Children

You must register to attend this seminar and in order to register, you must call the Portage County Domestic Relations Bailiff at (330) 298-3333 between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm Monday through Friday.

The Children are Forever seminar is held on the third Saturday of each month from 9:00 am until 12:00 noon.

Important information for the parenting seminar includes:

  • Be on-time. If you are late you will not be admitted
  • The bailiff refuses the right to refuse admittance to anyone for inappropriate dress or conduct
  • Do not bring your children or guests
  • You must have registered ahead of time
  • You must attend the entire 3-hour program
  • No use of cell phones during the seminar
  • Firearms and other weapons are not allowed

When You Need a Portage County Divorce Contact Us

The domestic relations lawyers at our law firm have significant experience handling divorces and dissolutions in Portage County, Ohio.

Please contact us to talk about your divorce by calling 1-888-774-9265, chatting with one of our live chat operators (available 24/7/365) or send us a website message and we will reply promptly.

If you are a resident of Ravenna, Aurora, Kent, Streetsboro, Tallmadge, Brady Lake, Garrettsville, Hiram, Mantua, Mogadore, Sugar Bush Knolls, Windham or any other city, town or village located within Portage County, Ohio, we have the experience with the Portage County Domestic Court System that’s needed.

For additional information about filing for divorce in Portage County, Ohio, please visit the following link: Portage County Domestic Relations Court

Dissolution & Divorce
Google Rating
4.9
www.slaterzurz.com